InterContinental Hotels Group (IHG) has acquired the Thailand based resorts and spas called Six Senses. This acquisition boosts IHG's portfolio in addition to other hotels and resorts such as Holiday Inn, Crowne Plaza, Kimpton, etc. This Asian trophy, Six Senses brings IHG's luxury focus of not only nice hotels and resorts, but also spas and wellness.

Photo Credit: Six Senses Laamu - Maldives

Why Do You Care?
This is a new announcement of the acquisition, so we won't be seeing any of Six Senses properties be available to book using IHG points any time soon. However, this also means that it creates an amazing opportunity for points travel community to be able to earn IHG points and redeem for stays at these aspiring luxury properties. The only downside that we foresee here is that, given these properties are considered 5 stars luxury, the points required for an award night stay there might be high. We are hopeful that a few of those properties might perhaps fall into 40,000 IHG points category property, that would give the value to the IHG's free night certificate through the IHG Rewards Club Premier Credit Card and the old IHG Rewards Club Select Credit Card. But this may be just a wishful thinking.

Where Are Six Senses Properties?
Currently, there are a total of 19 properties and growing in the world, mostly in Asia. They all look really fancy and super nice.

Asia & Pacific
Middle East & Africa