Indian Government Removes Multiple Restrictions On e-Visa For 166 Countries


Marriott Hotels & Resorts
Plus 1 Free Night Every Year
Earn 150,000 Bonus Hilton Points
You receive Hilton Diamond Status, Resort Credit, Airline Credit & 1 Free Weekend Night Every Year!
Land Alaska Airlines bonus of your summer dreams!
Score up to 60% bonus miles.
World of Hyatt Credit Card
Apply by September 30, 2021 to earn 60,000 Bonus Hyatt Points & Double Elite Night Credits.
Chase Sapphire Preferred 100,000 Bonus Points!
This is the best offer on this credit card!
Amex Platinum Card 125,000 Bonus Points & Up to $919 in New Benefits Value!
The card that gives you $179 CLEAR membership credit!
Amex EveryDay Preferred Card 30,000 Membership Rewards Points
Click on the Learn More button below using Incognito mode to see the offer!
Save up to 25% on a Marriott Resort Vacation
Select resorts in US, Canada, Caribbean & LATAM!

Indian Government Removes Multiple Restrictions On e-Visa For 166 Countries

Country is always looking into ways to attract tourist by easing restrictions on visa entry for foreign nationals. The Indian government has decided to remove multiple restrictions on their e-visa system that was introduced in 2015 to enhance tourism and make the system more tourist friendly. There are several changes to the e-visa system both for leisure and business visitors to India.

Photo Credit: Indian e-Visa Official Website

Indian e-Visa Rules Changes

The changes are all positive and kudos to Indian government for easing these restrictions to facilitate the e-visa process for foreign nationals that want to visit India. Here are the key changes:
  • Liberalization of the e-visa regime with 166 countries from 46 countries.
  • Increase the duration of e-tourist and e-business visas from 60 days with double entry to one year with multiple entries subject to stay stipulations and registration requirements.
  • Remove the restriction that a foreign national can only obtain e-visa for a maximum of three times in a calendar year. 
  • Each foreign national with e-Tourist visa cannot stay continuously more than 90 days, except for nationals of USA, UK, Canada and Japan. These nationals can stay continuously that exceeds 90 days but cannot exceed 180 days.
  • Each foreign national with e-Business visa cannot stay continuously more than 180 days. This is applicable for all nationals of all countries. 
  • Any foreign national who falls sick during his/her stay in India no longer needs to convert visa into Medical Visa while going through available medical treatment in India. 
  • e-Visa is now valid for entry through two additional airports: Bhubaneswar and Port Blair, making these the 27th and 28th e-visa designated airports in India that accepts e-visa. 
  • No separate category of 'Destination Wedding Visa' is needed for attending wedding under normal e-Tourist visa or Tourist visa.
  • The Visa-on-Arrival facility has now also been extended to the nationals of the Republic of Korea.

How To Apply For An Indian e-Visa?

From the e-Visa official website, the e-Visa Facility is available for nationals of following countries/territories:
  • Albania, Andorra, Angola, Anguilla, Antigua & Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Aruba, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon Union Republic, Canada, Cape Verde, Cayman Island, Chile, China, China- SAR Hongkong, China- SAR Macau, Colombia, Comoros, Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Cote d'lvoire, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, East Timor, Ecuador, El Salvador, Eritrea, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Iran, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati,Kyrgyzstan , Laos, Latvia, Lesotho, Liberia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Mali, Malta, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Moldova, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Montserrat, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nauru, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niger Republic, Niue Island, Norway, Oman, Palau, Palestine, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal , Qatar, Republic of Korea, Republic of Macedonia, Romania, Russia, Rwanda, Saint Christopher and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent & the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Tonga, Trinidad & Tobago, Turks & Caicos Island, Tuvalu, UAE, Uganda,Ukraine, United Kingdom, Uruguay, USA, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Vatican City-Holy See, Venezuela, Vietnam, Zambia and Zimbabwe 

If you like this post, please share it!


Posted by: PL

Hello there! People call me PL and I am a points blogger. Obsessed with using points and miles to elevate travel experiences to explore the world. Enjoy finer things in life and good food. I have a day job, this points blog is mainly my hobby and my contribution back to the points community. If you enjoy reading this post, please help me share it! If you enjoy what you read here, please make sure you subscribe or follow this blog on social media so that you will be notified when there's a new blog's post. I thank you for reading this blog. Your support means a lot to me and it is what makes this blog's work worthwhile. If I can be of any help, you can contact me: thepointslife at gmail dot com

If you appreicate my contents, you can also buy me a beer through the secured PayPal button below :-)

Connect: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram


Would you like to pay for travel with points instead of cash?

Get our best travel tips and tricks on points travel - Free!

Sign up for our newsletter below.

* indicates required

Post a Comment